I shouldn’t go to Tokyo

Confession time (since we’re all friends here) last night I watched Lost in Translation for, I guess, about the 20th time. Freaky huh? On my own defense, I do focus on different things in the film ever time. The first time you’re usually very focussed on the story (unless a film completely sucks that is) but by now I know that story by heart. Actually, there’s a chance I now a fair amount of dialogue by heart as well, which is worrying in a ‘Monty Python’s Quest for the Holy Grail is my all time favourite film’ sort of way. By now I have moved on to ‘hey, look at those props’, ‘that’s really nice lighting in this shot’ and ‘hey, that’s really poetic how Scarlett is out of focus and then back into focus’. And even after watching the thing as I said, ‘twenty or so’ times, there’s just about nothing I do not absolutely love about this film.

All that is not the point I’m trying to make here. What I realised is that I probably shouldn’t go to Tokyo. The city which is sort of like the third lead character in this film looks mesmerizing, puzzling and addictive in this film. You just want to go and experience it all for yourself. But, just as Scarlett says to Bill: “Let’s never come back here, since it will never be as much fun.” (did I mention I almost know the dialogue by heart?) Only difference is, I was never there in the first place. I only know the Tokyo that has been shown to my by Sofia Coppola. A place where wonderous things can happen, where find your way even though you understand nothing. Where helpful souls guide you through a different dimension even. Where wonderful music by Brian Reitzel and Kevin Shields plays in the background. I also felt that same ‘urge for first hand experience’ when reading After Dark by Haruki Murakami, even thought Murakami is more of ‘jazzman’). I am sure that if should ever make it to Tokyo the place will smell like a sewer and I’ll get mugged by a street gang… Or something along those lines. The Tokyo that’s now in my mind will be gone.

I guess that untill I decide that it’s better to regret having done something than regretting not having done it*, I’ll make have to do with walking through Amsterdam with My Bloody Valentine and Chemical Brothers on my iPod.

*Or until I learn the Star Wars lesson that ‘fear’ leads to the Dark Side, which could lead us back to the Murakami comment to come full circle, hurrah!

2 thoughts on “I shouldn’t go to Tokyo

  1. Man, I know I’m two years late, but seriously I feel completely the same. When I saw this movie for the first of many times, years ago, It started a complete mania in me for tokyo. I now plan on moving there after university🙂 Glad to hear I’m not the only one who finds the essence of this movie completely intoxicating and fascinating.

Geef een reactie

