Wikipedia is fucking with my head

Wikipedia wants to persuade me that the letter ‘A’ originated from a picture of an Ox head.
I mindlessly stared at the images that seem to serve as evidence for this… but I don’t see it.

Egyptian hieroglyphic ox head

Proto-semitic ox head

Phoenician aleph

Greek alpha

Etruscan A

Roman A

Fortunately there’s also a whole lot of information there. None of which is very convincing either. On the bright side, all the surplus text looks very intimidating and confusing. In fact, there is so much ‘beside the point’ information that it managed to distract me from the claim this whole page started with (the letter ‘A’ can be traced to a ‘pictogram’ of an ox head). I noticed the following mindshoft taking pkace inside my brain: “.. uhhhh… since they managed to write all that extra stuff and used words like ‘Etruscan’, ‘glottal stop’ and ‘hebrew alpeh’ that initial claim must be true… what was it again”. so now I believe that the letter ‘A’ is actually a simplified ox head picture, even though I can no longer recall why…

Convincing and easy to understand evidence is overrated anyway.

Geef een reactie

