Scott Listfield: An astronaut as a garden gnome…

With new found arrogance I once again proclaim myself to be an artist. But an artist who sometimes unleashes the geek inside. That may mean, reading popular science books on quantum mechanics, or hooking up my PSP to the WWW, but it sometimes means I run out and buy The Firebird - Scott Listfieldmyself a copy of Wired Magazine. Goody! Sometimes it can be thoroughly fulfilling to read about which earplugs for my mp3 player I should buy (I just use the ones that camewith the iPod, or how an oilrig drills the ocean (even though I am totally against that, save the environment people!). The january 2008 copy of Wired was even more fulfiling than others. Not only did it include an article about French cinema genius Michel Gondry (Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind among others) it also featured a small article about an artist I had never heard of before; Scott Listfield.

My first thought was: why, o, why can’t I remember seeing his stuff in Flash Art, Frieze Art, Modern Painters or whereever? Beacuse his works are brilliant. Totally in line with what I wrote in my two ‘Love the paint’ postings. Lushly painted, energetic sceneries that suck you in At the laundromatt with Bobba Fett- Scott Listfieldand then surprise you with all those things you didn’t see at first. Which is very, very clever. Because his compositions are actually very well balanced. Never too much information that would just give you a headache. They would actually be very comforting in the background of a waiting room for a doctor or dentist. Only at that second glance -and he will get that second glance- can his paintings give you that nagging feeling of discomfort I admire so much in paintings. Others don’t make you feel uneasy at all, but have a wonderous air. A bit like watching a Michel Gondry film or video.

Scott Listfield’s paintings have a message, but my personal bet is that is not a message of doom and anger, but amazement over he world that surrounds us. Hence the astronaut that pops up in all paintings. In Wired the compared this with the -kidnapped- garden gnome some Intelligent design - Scott Listfieldbackpackers take along to take pictures of durin their travels. Scott Listfield admist feeling like that astronaut every once in a while. An out of place spectator in a world dominated by bizarre little things like Starbucks, Blackberries and primary elections. A world where you can meet Bobba Fett at the laundromat. I april he’s got a show opening up at ArtCenter/ South Florida in Miami Beach. I don’t think I will be around for that one, but I am truly jealous if you’re able to go see it. For those of us that can’t… there’s always the possibility to buy a giclee print of one of his works online.

One thought on “Scott Listfield: An astronaut as a garden gnome…

  1. What funny, an astronaut and an orangutan,Scott Listfield’s paintings have a message, but my personal bet is that is not a message of doom and anger, but amazement over he world that surrounds us. Hence the astronaut that pops up in all paintings.

Geef een reactie

